Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

TTT

It’s Top Ten Tuesday Time! This weekly feature is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish

Confession: I love giving book recommendations. Here are some of the ones I recommend the most often.

john green

Most Recommended Author

ALL OF JOHN GREEN’S BOOKS FOREVER AND EVER

Who: I recommend John Green to people who are new to the YA genre and/or think that YA is just “dumbed-down” books for kids.

Why: John Green writes thoughtful, funny, and often heartbreaking prose. His characters are lovable and nerdy and awesome.  HE’S GOOD. For those who aren’t familiar with him, I specifically recommend Looking for Alaska, The Fault in Our Stars, and Paper Towns.

Goodreads | AmazonJohn Green Limited Edition Boxed Set (autographed) |

recommendations

Most Recommended Literary Fiction

EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Johnathan Safran Foer

Who: I recommend Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close to people who enjoy literary fiction and people who like quirky and precocious main characters (or at least those who don’t want to kick precocious children in the shins).

Why: Jonathan Safran Foer’s writing is poetic. This is a language lover’s book for sure. This story makes me laugh and cry and it’s one that I find myself returning to whenever I need a little inspiration in my life.

GoodreadsAmazon

Most Recommended Memoir

MAN’S SEARCH FOR MEANING by Viktor Frankl

Who: I recommend this gem to people who are interested in psychology and/or Holocaust history.

Why: This book changed my life. Viktor Frankl writes an inspiring tale about survival and finding meaning in suffering. The first part of this memoir tells the story of Frankl’s imprisonment and survival in several concentration camps during the Holocaust. The second part of the book describes a form of therapy that Frankl developed as a result of his experience. Bonus: This book is packed with SO MANY quotable lines.

GoodreadsAmazon

Most Recommended “Quick Read” Book

THE ALCHEMIST by Paulo Coelho

Who: I recommend The Alchemist to people who enjoy parable style stories. It’s also beneficial during a quarter-life crisis (and I’m assuming that it’d be beneficial during a mid-life crisis or any “what the hell am I doing with my life?” type crisis). Warning: A lot of people hate this book, but it’s a short one so the suffering doesn’t last long.

Why: I first read this book for a Psychology of Identity and Fulfillment class and I found it to be quite…uh… fulfilling.  To me, there’s a lot of beauty in the simplicity of this story–both in the way that it’s written and in its message. It was thought-provoking.

GoodreadsAmazon

Most Recommended Classic

THE BELL JAR by Sylvia Plath

Who: I recommend The Bell Jar to readers who appreciate Plath’s poetry and those who don’t shy away from a depressing/bleak story-line.

Why: Sometimes when I hear the words “classic literature” I imagine stabbing pencils in my eyes. That’s not to say I don’t like any classic literature– I just hate the dry, slow-paced kind. The Bell Jar is not one of those pencil stabbing classics.  Sylvia Plath is a fantastic writer and The Bell Jar is a ride into mental illness that’s peppered so perfectly with metaphor. It’s an EXPERIENCE.

Goodreads | Amazon

Most Recommended Middle Grade Book

A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L’Engle

Who: I recommend this lovely little book to anyone and everyone. I want to scream it from the rooftops. It’s especially good for those who aren’t ready to commit to a hard-core science fiction fantasy series, but who want to test the waters. It’s great for those interested in both science and faith and for girls who feel like they don’t quite fit in.

Why: This was my favorite book as a child. This is still one of my favorite books as an adult. This story is an adventure and there’s so much depth underneath it all, that I discover something new each time I read it.

Goodreads |Amazon

Most Recommended Young Adult Book

THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak

Who: I recommend The Book Thief to people who like experimental fiction and to people who aren’t afraid of long books. Bonus if you like to cry a lot. Double bonus if you are a writer. But really, this is another one that I think every single reading human being should read.

Why: So there’s this small obsession I have with books written about the Holocaust and then there’s a very large obsession I have with books that make me FEEL ALL THE FEELINGS. This particular story is an interesting take on the Holocaust in that it’s narrated by death. Mark Zusak is an exciting writer who does AMAZING things with these pages.

GoodreadsAmazon

Most Recommended Graphic Novel

MAUS (MAUS #1-#2) by Art Spiegelman

Who: I recommend this set to people who have never read a graphic novel and people who are hesitant to do so. This is also a great pick if you already read graphic novels and love them. Actually, I’ve yet to find a person who didn’t love these books.

Why: Surprise surprise! It’s another story that takes place during the Nazi occupation. Spiegelman’s story pairs perfectly with his drawings (all characters are drawn as animals). It is unique and beautiful and thoughtful.

GoodreadsAmazon

Most Recommended How-To Book

BACKYARD HOMESTEAD by Carleen Madigan

Who: I recommend this book to every single person who says to me, “So I’m thinking about planting a garden this year.” This is also great for people who want to eat healthier and/or control where their food is coming from.

Why: This book has everything you need to learn how to produce your own food. Learn how to keep bees, milk a goat, make cheese, brew beer, raise chickens, prune a fruit tree and a crap-load more. Backyard Homestead is so informative and all the instructions are easy to follow. It’s been a great resource for me!

Goodreads | Amazon

Most Recommended Beauty Book

THE GREEN BEAUTY GUIDE by Julie Gabriel

Who: I most often recommend the Green Beauty Guide to my crafty, hippie, “crunchy” friends. It’s great for anyone  interested in organic products or for anyone interested in saving money by making their own beauty products.

Why: This book has a ton of recipes to make your own beauty goods. I’ve made a lot of the scrubs and treatments (even deodorant!)  and they are all really wonderful.

GoodreadsAmazon

*****************************

Talk it out: What are some of  your  most recommended books? Have any recommendations for me?

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

  1. I really love how you broke it into categories! I never even considered that! I haven’t actually read very many of these but you’ve reminded me to add them to my list!

  2. Lol, I totally agree with you about John Green! I’ve read all his books except An Abundance of Katherines, and my favorite was The Fault In Our Stars. I recommend his work all the time. 🙂

  3. I’m seeing The Book Thief on a lot of lists! It’s such a great choice!

    I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars, but I loved it and am definitely interested in reading more of Green’s work.

    • You really can’t go wrong with any of Green’s books because he’s a brilliant writer! Although I’ve heard of people getting sick of them when they read them one after the other (because his characters can start to seem pretty similar). I’ve been a fan of his since his first book, so my reading experience with him has been pretty spaced out and I’m definitely not sick of him.

  4. Love the way you set up this week’s TTT. Definitely going to add “The Book Thief” to my TBR pile, cause I like to cry… and the rest of John Green’s books cause he’s just awesome in general, right?! lol, Thanks for all the recs, and reminding me that I totally forgot to put “The Bell Jar” on my list as well!

    • Yes! You definitely have to read The Book Thief and the rest of John Green. Space them out though… it’s a little too much intensity to take in all at once. haha.

    • Yea! That’s a tricky one. I find that people either love it or hate it. There were a few friends of mine who absolutely hated it as well. But there was also a friend who fell in love with it and now it is her favorite book of all time and that makes me really happy.

  5. A few outstanding things I’ve read recently that you might like! (If you haven’t read them already..)

    Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
    A Visit from the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan
    This is Where I Leave You – Jonathan Tropper (everything he writes is fantastic)

    • Yes! So many people recommending The Book Thief. At least I know I don’t have terrible taste in literature. Oh and make sure you have some tissues when you tackle The Fault in Our Stars.

  6. This was a brilliant way of doing it!
    The Bell Jar is one of my favourites as well. You have some great recommendations here, I’m planning on borrowing Maus and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close from my boyfriend soon.

  7. Cool list!! I loved A Wrinkle in Time when I was younger too… and classics make me (for the most part) want to stab pencils into my eyes as well 🙂 I loved TFIOS and I’m reading Looking for Alaska now!! I really want to read A Man’s Search for Meaning, it sounds inspiring!!
    My TTT

      • Haha. How do you like Looking for Alaska so far? I think that was my favorite of his. But I’m not sure if it’s my favorite because it was the first one of his that I read (and I was just so blown away by it) or if it’s for-real my favorite 🙂

    • I think Looking for Alaska is my favorite with TFiOS a close second. It’s hard to say because Looking for Alaska was the first that I’ve read of his… and I was just so blown away by the writing.

  8. I really like this list. I’ve enjoyed all of the John Green I’ve read, though I STILL haven’t read TFiOS, which everyone says is his best. I’ll have to get to that. I also want to read The Book Thief. I hear so many wonderful things about it ALL the time.

  9. Awesome list 😀 Sigh. I loved The Fault in Our Stars. ❤ I didn't like Looking for Alaska, though :\ but looking forward to reading his other books 🙂 Thank you for sharing. ❤
    Thank you for commenting on my Top Ten. ❤
    Love, Carina @ Carina’s Books

Leave a Reply

