Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Characters I Would Crush On If I Were Also A Fictional Character

TTTTop Ten Tuesday Time is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish. Hooray!

Confession: If I were a fictional character there’s a good possibility that I would be a hot mess with somewhat questionable taste in book boyfriends. But I’m going to be an optimist here and say that these are the top ten guys I would WANT to kiss in literary land.

Etienne St. Clair from Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and The French Kiss : Ohhhh Etienne. Sexy, sexy,  Etienne with his sexy English accent and sexy face.  The thing I like most about Etienne is that he is just a NICE GUY. But not too nice like those annoyingly nice guys. He has flaws and that’s what helps makes him swoon-worthy.

Adam Wilde from Gayle Forman’s If I Stay and Where She Went: He’s a brooding rockstar. Need I explain more?

Roger Sullivan from  Morgan Matson’s Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour: Roger is a great character- nuanced and sweet. But it’s his playlists that are included in Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour that really do it for me. Iron & Wine? The Weepies?  Grizzly Bear?  Animal FREAKIN Collective?! This guy is dateable on his musical taste alone.

Sirius Black from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series: I. Love. Sirius. Black. He’s a bad-ass rebel, but oh-so loyal to those lucky enough to have his love. He is devastating in the best way.

Henry DeTamble from Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife:  First of all,  he’s a librarian. Secondly, he is a time-traveler. He is also damn sexy and his love scenes are like WHOA.

Ethan Carroll from Ann M. Martin’s Baby-Sitter’s Club series:  Remember Ethan Carroll? He and Stacy had a long distance relationship for a couple books. If I were a fictional 15 year old babysitter, I would totally have a crush on this earring-wearing, bleached hair “art student”.

Jonah Griggs from Melina Marchetta’s On the Jellicoe Road: Oh Jonah. Be still my heart. This one appeals to the psychologist in me. He’s so COMPLICATED. He’s fierce, protective, dependable and vulnerable. Plus, he’s in excellent physical shape. The human version of me was swooning over him, so I’m sure the fictional version of me wouldn’t be able to keep her hands off of him.

Akiva from Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone:  I’m not big on the whole “angel” thing. But a supernaturally beautiful guy with high cheekbones and kohl-lined eyes?  Sign me up. Add in tattooed fingers and I’m completely sold.

Cricket Bell from Stephanie Perkins’ Lola and the Boy Next Door: Stephanie Perkins sure knows how to write crushable characters. I have a soft spot for tall, geeky, well-dressed guys. Cricket is all of these things plus he’s super supportive and enthusiastic. Also, his name is Cricket.

Tyrion Lannister from George R. R. Martin’s  A Song of  Ice and Fire series:  This character wins on personality. He’s smart, snarky, and funny. Dude has panache. Plus, he’s never boring. Take THAT King Joffrey.

tumblr_mhnw91hKLp1s3wukso1_500

Talk it out: Who would YOU crush on if you were a fictional character? Would you share any of my crushes?

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I Would Crush On If I Were Also A Fictional Character

  1. I love Tyrion, he’s on my list as well. There’s a lot to be said for a witty comeback. I totally forgot about Sirius, excellent choice!

    And yes to male librarians, a rarity in the field!

    • Yea- I guess I kind of blocked the whole “having a girlfriend the whole time” thing out of my mind. Haha. At least he owned up to being a dick about it at the end?

  2. I love how many Westeros men are showing up on the TTT lists this week! Tyrion is a great choice (I went with Ned). I loved the Stephanie Perkins books. You and I may have to fight over Sirius Black though — love him!

    • Sirius is MINE! hah! I’m not very far into A Song of Fire an Ice Series. It’s a big time commitment, but the men are just so sexy that it’s worth it!

  3. Girl, you know Tyrion was mine first. Well, I don’t think he was actually mine first, but he is mine the most. I will give you Sirius, whom I also adore, and shack up with Hagrid or Ron Weasley.

    Can I also pick Batman? Do comics count?

    • You can have Ron and Tyrion (in the form of Peter Dinklage). I’ll take Jon Snow and keep Sirius… if you throw in the rest of the Weasley brothers. Batman is allowed.

  4. Yay Cricket! Love him. And he can do your hair whenever you have parties to go to. Hee. And yes to Sirius Black. He is one of my favorite HP characters. I forgot about Henry! He’s an amazing guy and his love for Claire is totally crush worthy. 🙂

  5. Omg I didn’t even think to consider Sirius! But young Sirius? That’d be awesome…
    Etienne almost made my list 🙂 And I’ve wanted to read Epic Detour for a while… glad to hear you liked the male lead! Thanks for stopping by yesterday 🙂

  6. Calvin O’Keefe… I have no words seriously I LOVE him.. Like I’ve never had a crush any any real life people just fictional which is sad but I’m only thirteen and I am OBSESSED WITH HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

