Review

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta| Book Review

Jellicoe Road

JELLICOE ROAD BY MELINA MARCHETTA
RELEASE:
 2008
PUBLISHER:
HarperTeen
SERIES:
Nope. Stand-alone
SOURCE & FORMAT:
Purchased E-book

Abandoned by her mother on Jellicoe Road when she was eleven, Taylor Markham, now seventeen, is finally being confronted with her past. But as the reluctant leader of her boarding school dorm, there isn’t a lot of time for introspection. And while Hannah, the closest adult Taylor has to family, has disappeared, Jonah Griggs is back in town, moody stares and all.

In this absorbing story by Melina Marchetta, nothing is as it seems and every clue leads to more questions as Taylor tries to work out the connection between her mother dumping her, Hannah finding her then and her sudden departure now, a mysterious stranger who once whispered something in her ear, a boy in her dreams, five kids who lived on Jellicoe Road eighteen years ago, and the maddening and magnetic Jonah Griggs, who knows her better than she thinks he does. If Taylor can put together the pieces of her past, she might just be able to change her future- Goodreads

CONFESSION: I was all like doubleyou-tee-eff, mate?! in the beginning of Jellicoe Road. I had no idea what was going on. I kept flipping back to previous chapters just to make sure I wasn’t missing anything. You see, I have major control issues and nothing was adding up and it was very uncomfortable for me to feel like I was in the dark about something. But that feeling only lasted for the first third of the book. Before I knew it, fragmented stories started tumbling together in a way that took my breath away.  I urge you: DO NOT give up on this book. Push through and you will be rewarded beyond your wildest imagination.

Jellicoe Road is layered. On the surface it’s a story about a few distinct groups of students and their “territory wars” over the spaces they occupy during the school year.  Underneath that story lies the main characters– each with troubled pasts and each searching for answers in their own way. The foundation of it all is a tale that happened twenty years prior– a story of deep friendship blooming from tragedy.

This piecing together is done in such a way that the reader will probably figure out what’s going on before all of it is “officially revealed”. I figured out a lot of  it before the end, but I didn’t even care. It’s freakin’ beautiful, people. I loved Jellicoe Road so much. Every single one of the characters came alive for me. Even now, after the book has been closed for awhile, they feel like friends.

I also need to mention Jonah Griggs. I’m going to try to make this as non-spoilery as possible but: HOLY HOTNESS ALL OVER THE PAGE, Jonah Griggs. I had a book crush on him early in the story… and it felt wrong. Was I supposed to be having these feelings for this hard-assed scruffy boy who is being kind of douchey? I worked it all out in the end, but whoa *fans self*.

Jellicoe Road was a great read. It had everything that I enjoy in a good story: Three dimensional characters, subtle humor, an air of mystery, original plot, lots of stab me in the heart kind of feelings, and hot scruffy boys with tragic pasts. This one definitely made me feel all the feels.

feels-my-emotions

****************************************

SPECIAL GUEST APPEARANCES BY: Super cool tree fort | Men in uniforms | Feral cat

HEAVY BOOT THEMES: Abandonment | Bereavement | Addiction | Depression | Suicide

PEOPLE WHO MAY POSSIBLY WANT TO HUG THIS BOOK: Awesome people.

RATING: 5/5

****************************************

 

Book Haiku for Jellicoe Road

WTF?!
Why is Jonah Griggs so hot?
I feel Everything. 

2 thoughts on “Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta| Book Review

  1. LOL I love your “special guest appearances” by thing.. very cute! I sadly was one of the people who gave up on this book 😦 It was SO confusing and I felt like I was too far into it to be so confused!! Anyway I ended up skimming the rest of the book and I see why people love it so much, but that whole beginning part killed it for me 😦

    • I know a few people who gave up on the book! So you’re definitely not alone. I was adamant about finishing it because I knew there was going to be some pay-off. Once I finally figured out that the italicized sections were part of a story that happen 20 years prior.. and that story was being told in out-of-order fragments, I was okay. But until I realized that, I just kept thinking “What the heck is wrong with me? Why can’t I understand this?” haha.

Leave a Reply

